Excess Baggage for Students

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excess Baggage for Students

Hi, I'm flying to London in a week's time on SQ for my studies, and am wondering if there are any baggage concessions for students? 20KG might just be a tad too little.

You do yes. You can get an extra 10KG for free

http://www.sqtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9481

Comment

When I was a student in Melbourne, I had called SQ on a couple of occasions to verify if I would receive an additional 10kg baggage allowance for students but I was informed that there was no such additional allowance.

However, my friend tipped me off that you would get the 10kg as long as you present your student ID during check-in. True enough, in my 4 years of shuttling between SIN-MEL on SQ with standard fares, I had no trouble with the excess baggage. I reckon this might have been one of those 'unwritten rules' perhaps?
      -z.h.i.w.e.n-

Comment

Originally posted by moddie View Post
        Hi, I'm flying to London in a week's time on SQ for my studies, and am wondering if there are any baggage concessions for students? 20KG might just be a tad too little.
        If this is your first time heading to the United Kingdom, you should also have with you a few copies of the Student Status letter or something similarly entitled. This letter should tell anyone who reads it that you're a student at So and So University. So you'll can use that letter in place of your student ID.

I've had a couple of occasions though where they simply accepted that I was a student prima facie and didn't even bother looking at my student ID.

P.S. What University will you be joining? I'm up at University of Warwick so holla if you're gonna be in the Midlands!

Comment

Technically you should get a student fare from the TAs. That's what I did. 40kg allowance but you pay for it.

Yes they are quite lenient in granting you excess if you are a student. Normal passengers get to about 23-25kg.

Comment