New to KrisFlyer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to KrisFlyer

Newbie here, holiday flights have switched from EK to SQ. Wife and I are doing Australia, so LHR-SIN-PER, various internal flights then DRW-SIN-LHR (all the long-haul is in business). So a few questions on KrisFlyer:

1. Do we both need to sign up?

2. Is it best to add membership number(s) via TA, or get the booking ref from the TA and then get online? Not sure how SIA's website works!

3. Any other top tips? (I'll probably ask more general questions on the other forums).

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by Tocsin View Post
    Newbie here, holiday flights have switched from EK to SQ. Wife and I are doing Australia, so LHR-SIN-PER, various internal flights then DRW-SIN-LHR (all the long-haul is in business). So a few questions on KrisFlyer:

1. Do we both need to sign up?

2. Is it best to add membership number(s) via TA, or get the booking ref from the TA and then get online? Not sure how SIA's website works!

3. Any other top tips? (I'll probably ask more general questions on the other forums).

Thanks in advance!
    Welcome to SQTalk, Tocsin!

Yes, recommend both of you sign up. That said, if you are based in the UK, and are flying European airlines more often than SQ. It may make more sense to sign up for another Star Alliance FF programme (e.g. LH or TK) depending on your travel, which will still allow you to earn points on SQ flights. I'll leave the other experts on this forum to comment on this point, as I am based in SG, and in my case Krisflyer makes the most sense.

Best to add the frequent flyer number at time of booking, through the TA. But if not, you can always add it to the booking later.

Other tips:

- I believe all J fares will accrue mileage. When booking SQ tickets, if booking in Y, check the fare class, as many fares earn only 50% mileage in Y, some 10% and for some promotional fares no mileage at all.