Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exit to HKG during long layover on a same booking

Hi guys,

I have never done a long layover on purpose before and would like to ask the community for inputs,

Q1. I have booked a SFO-HKG-SIN flight on SQ1 & SQ865 (Single PNR), travelling on J redemption which I doubt it matters.
    There's a 12 hours layover (on purpose) as I would wish to see the sights of Hong Kong. During check in at SFO, I assume that I will get my HKG-SIN boarding pass as well ? This would not count as a stop over since I am not staying more than 24 hours.

Q2. Can I use the SKL at Hong Kong upon my arrival from SFO-HKG to freshen up, since it's 6.30am in the morning, and enter the lounge again when I return for my evening flight

Q3. Assuming if I had to go to the transfer desk at HKG to get my BP for HKG-SIN, any issues of going over to the land side and come back again later ?

​​​​​​​TIA

Originally posted by ninervictor View Post
    Q2. Can I use the SKL at Hong Kong upon my arrival from SFO-HKG to freshen up, since it's 6.30am in the morning, and enter the lounge again when I return for my evening flight

Hi ninervictor! HKG airport passenger flow separates arriving pax from departing pax. In order to get to the HKG SKL, which is in the departure area, you need to follow transit directions and clear security (and BP check) to get into departure zone. And once in the departure area, there is no "standard" way to clear customs out of the airport. There may be a way out of the airport from the departure area, but it is not normal practice.

So it is probably not straightforward to use the SKL upon arrival if you are leaving the airport.

Comment

Originally posted by yflyer View Post