Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie flyer questions - flight timescales, food, etc

Hi all.
    Some very random newbie questions coming up… I’m new to the SQTalk boards and to flying in general (as I have never actually flown before), so I hope someone can help me out…

I have booked to fly from UK to Singapore to Australia in a couple of months on Singapore Airlines. I have found answers to nearly all of my (mainly very random!) questions about flying except a couple which I am just curious about... so if anyone feels like filling me in, it would be most appreciated!

1. How long after boarding do the doors close/push-back take place? Does that actually happen at the departure time - and hence why the boarding gate closes ~20minutes earlier?

2. Then how long is it usually before you are at altitude and the seatbelt sign is off? Is it half an hour from the departure time, an hour… how long does it usually take before you can start to move around, play on a DS, etc?

3. On an average long haul flight (although I gather there isn’t really such a thing), how much of the time is the seatbelt sign on for? Is it usually only take off/landing, or are there nearly always other times? Do the FAs put it on when they have the carts in the aisle, etc?

4. Do the FAs mind if you decide you don’t actually want dinner/breakfast/whatever it is they are serving? I don’t always eat when I’m travelling, but don’t want to seem rude to get it served, then not eat it - will I get a chance to say beforehand that I'd rather not have any?

Obviously I appreciate every flight is different - but I'm only after rough guesstimates to things - as I think I will prefer to have a vague idea as to what is going on, rather than looking lost all the time...!

Thanks!!

Originally posted by frammy77 View Post
    Hi all.