A dash of London and a serving of Leeds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A dash of London and a serving of Leeds

Having enjoyed many trip reports here and on flyertalk, I decided that I will do my maiden trip report on London and Leeds, where I am right now.

Background:

I am a Singaporean who is in Leeds now. I study at the University of Leeds, where I will be for the next five years.

This TR starts off in Changi Airport...

10th September 2011
    SIN-LHR
    SQ322
    9V-SKC

Took the redeye to London in order to reach Leeds before the sun set.
    Arrived at the Airport at 0900... went inside the gate at 1020 after being sent off by relatives and friends. Being rushed for time and having a Priority Pass, I went to the nearest lounge which was the Ambassador Transit Lounge in T3, as I have a priority pass but no status with any airline. I did manage to get 30kg with SIA as I am a student and I sent in proof of my offer letter.

The food and drink selection was terrible. Alcohol is payable at $15 for 2 bottles of Tiger, food was limited to a measly fried rice, some paos and cold samosas. Didn't bother to take a picture of the food offering.

However, one could shower in this lounge.

Water pressure was good but they used one of those icky all in one soap shampoo and conditioner. Felt refreshed after the shower.

Then headed off to the gate. Long queue at security for there were flights leaving for Sydney, Paris and London at around the same time at gates A1, A3 and A2 respectively.

Took a few blurry photos of the A380 and a 773 on the way to the airplane. My apologies, I only had my iPhone.

The Actual Flight

Took an upper deck seat. Upper Deck boards first but since I was showering at the lounge and only arrived at the gate at 11.10, they were already boarding main deck.

Legroom shot. I'm a pretty tall guy (1.83m) but it was comfortable.

A380 Config 1 upper deck

Take off was smooth and quiet!