Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SQ321 13 March 2010: disturbing noise from A380 emex

I was seated in Y (upper deck).

15 mins after take off, a loud siren went off on the right emex door (behind seat 79K). There was also a hissing sound (sounded like air escaping, repeat sounded).

There was a small circular clear plastic cover and there was a indicator (red/green) that went from armed to unarmed.

This siren went on for 15 mins or so before it subsided to what sounded like a hairdryer on full blast (in an enclosed bathroom) for the almost remaining duration of the flight (it started to get softer when the aircraft began descending for landing).

The FAs tried to dampen the sound by draping blankets over the entire emex but it was no good, did not get a decent wink for the entire flight, I could hear it even with IEMs when watching the AVOD.

I am not an aircraft expert so I would like to seek some opinions as none of the crew I checked with could give any useful info

It seems like the pressure seals on the door did not seal the door properly causing cabin air to rush out causing that noise you mentioned. That's the reason why the noise died down when the a/c was descending. The armed/disarmed thing is to arm the emergency door slides. It should be in the arm position soon after pushback.

Comment

Thanks Boing.

I am curious that happened since that door is not used for passenger boarding, unless the seals can be sufficiently moved even when the door is not opened.

I cannot remember whether it was armed or not but I recalled it moving (can't recall which direction though) and the hissing sound made me think of the Helios flight episode on I saw on AC Investigation.

After landing, when they removed the blankets covering the emex,I saw a locking pin that was inserted manually, probably to stop the arming device from moving any further.