SQTalk  

Go Back   SQTalk > Singapore Airlines > All About Singapore Airlines

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th September 2019, 03:38 PM   #1
MainlyMiles
SQTalk Elite Silver
 
Join Date: 16-Jan-2018
Location: Singapore
Programs: KrisFlyer, Avios, Mileage Plan, Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Skywards
Posts: 63
Default SIA takes Busan route from SilkAir

From 28th October 2019 SilkAir's four-times weekly SIN-PUS flights will switch to SIA, operated by the A330.

SQ616 SIN2310-PUS0635+1 333 (Days 1356)
SQ615 PUS0800-SIN1325 333 (Days 2467)

Slight timing difference applies on some days.

Capacity on the route increases by 76% as a result.
MainlyMiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2019, 04:46 PM   #2
yuuka_miya
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
Join Date: 22-Nov-2018
Programs: KF nothing
Posts: 170
Default

Interesting. Is it because of the Max, or are bookings just that good?
__________________
an infrastructure geek
yuuka_miya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2019, 05:04 PM   #3
flyguy
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 21-Dec-2006
Posts: 1,590
Default

Silkair have been using the 738s to fly to Busan and hopefully its because of better loads as otherwise to switch from a 738 to a A330 will not make financial sense as then the capacity is almost double and would be a loss making route if its just because of the Max grounding.
flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2019, 06:32 PM   #4
MainlyMiles
SQTalk Elite Silver
 
Join Date: 16-Jan-2018
Location: Singapore
Programs: KrisFlyer, Avios, Mileage Plan, Asia Miles, Etihad Guest, Skywards
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuuka_miya View Post
Interesting. Is it because of the Max, or are bookings just that good?
Very likely SilkAir needs the extra 737-800 capacity in its own fleet for the winter season on other routes, plus the current flight is often load limited. It only really works at full capacity with the MAX (which was intended, but the route never received it for obvious reasons).

Generally airlines don't increase capacity on a route by upgauging the aircraft type first, they increase the frequency first. That's impossible given SilkAir's fleet situation at the moment.
MainlyMiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2019, 08:05 PM   #5
flyguy
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 21-Dec-2006
Posts: 1,590
Default

am surprised if thats the case then SQ upgauging to a much bigger aircraft with only about 50% load or less and ok to lose substantial money on the route, notto mention wasting a widebody aircraft on it. This surely would affect negatively the bottom line.
flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2019, 08:41 PM   #6
yuuka_miya
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
Join Date: 22-Nov-2018
Programs: KF nothing
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MainlyMiles View Post

Generally airlines don't increase capacity on a route by upgauging the aircraft type first, they increase the frequency first. That's impossible given SilkAir's fleet situation at the moment.
But I'm thinking, what's stopping them from reducing frequency when upgauging?

Or is it just because Busan is pretty nice at the end of the year, or so I hear? That might help flyguy's concerns.
__________________
an infrastructure geek
yuuka_miya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2019, 04:03 AM   #7
MAN Flyer
SQTalk Founder
 
Join Date: 31-Oct-2006
Location: All the wrong places...
Programs: SQ TPP, BA Gold, SPG Life Plat, Hyatt Dia, Hilton Dia
Posts: 6,562
Default

A much better aircraft for the route, and would not be surprised if they are seeing decent demand as it's a route that has been needed for a while. I am sure someone on here used to bore people about it.

What is a shame is they are introducing the extra capacity literally just after Kormarine finishes, which is a shame for the Singaporean based folk and others who go there, including members of this forum.
__________________
Incheon : Connected to the world, cut-off from Korea
MAN Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2019, 09:25 AM   #8
eamond
SQTalk Elite Silver
 
Join Date: 06-Feb-2011
Location: MEL & PVG
Programs: SQ, OZ, UA, DL, QF
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyguy View Post
am surprised if thats the case then SQ upgauging to a much bigger aircraft with only about 50% load or less and ok to lose substantial money on the route, notto mention wasting a widebody aircraft on it. This surely would affect negatively the bottom line.
The load is likely contributed by the weight restrictions that 737-800 has on the route, which would partially explain the upgauge (in addition to SQ's own word of seeing good demand)

Michael
eamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2019, 09:26 AM   #9
flyguy
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 21-Dec-2006
Posts: 1,590
Default

SQ today in the papers say they are changing to the A330 because of "healthy demand".
flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Techadmin: Luke | Hosting: www.lomag.net