Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• losing faith..

Hi all
    Newbie here. Ive been living in singapore for 2 years now and am a elite gold member as I fly a fair bit but always economy (cheap a55 company!).
    While the extra baggage, lounge access and check in is great I cant help but think there are other carriers who offer more to their top tear members. You seemingly cant get cheap upgrade awards any more which is down to their upgrade miles promotion earlier in the year I think which really is putting me off staying a star alliance miles chaser.

The main reason is that I fly to the UK the most and the lounge in Heathrow really is naff and the gold lounge in changi is nothing special.

Trouble is I am on the cusp of renewing my gold status again with 2 trips to the UK to reach 50k but I am seriously thinking of biting the bullet, changing carriers and putting those 24k miles to an airline where there is a chance of an upgrade at least. SQ flights are nice but the emirates etc of this world are not bad and alot cheaper.

If you are flying Y a lot to LHR, then I would have thought the prospect of non-stop flights on a new SQ A380 far outstrips that of 3-4-3 seating on EK 777s and transiting in DXB...

Just my 2 cents.

Comment

True enough, its just I've known a lot people getting upgraded or cheap upgrades on Emirates and carriers from that part of the world where SQ don't as a rule.
      The a380 Y class is very good but at the end of the day if I can pay a bit more to fly business on another carrier as opposed to rather expensive upgrade costs of SQ then its making me think.

Saying that I probably will stay with SQ though other wise its a waste and it is good service, you never know maybe the god of upgrades will one day shine favourably on me..

BTW glad I stumbled upon this site lots of useful information for a frequent flyer.

Cheers

Comment