Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Redeeming reward flights (SIN-LAX, SFO-SIN)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Redeeming reward flights (SIN-LAX, SFO-SIN)

Hi guys, just want to ask for some advice. I am a rookie trying to redeem a Saver Suites tix SIN-LAX for mid-June in 2015. I have been tracking the status as dates open up for next year. However, I have been noticing that for every single day in June that has opened up, no Saver tix in Suites (and even J) are available. They are all waitlisted. Is SQ holding back on Saver tix or is someone snapping up the Saver tix at midnight once they are released?

If I waitlist, do I have a good shot of getting it?

To me, flying into LAX/SFO and flying back makes no difference to me. I planned to fly Suites to LAX and J-class back from SFO because I wanted to try the Suites product and also check out TPR out of SIN. However, I might have to do J-class up to LAX/SFO (since the J-class on A380 and 77W are the same) and come back from LAX to fly in Suites. Would this be a more viable option rather than to be waitlisted?

Please advice Thanks guys!
    Last edited by gumption; 20 June 2014, 09:31 AM.

Gumption: listing Saver F/Suites in waitlist is a default. Whether the waitlist turns into a confirmed, depends on where you are on the pecking list of pax who have also waitlisted themselves on that day i.e. are you Solitaire, PPS, Gold ... etc. SQ doesn't seem to want a first-come-first-served policy for Saver F - as they want to be able to give priority to their best customers for these "discounted" seats.

A suggestion that many experienced flyers here suggest is that you try to get a firm Saver J while you waitlist F if you have to fly on those dates. Then cancel it if your Saver F becomes available. However, you've to be careful that none of your miles are expired when you do so - they may just disappear when you cancel the J seat. If in doubt, call KF.

Comment