Amex PPS Club Credit Card

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amex PPS Club Credit Card

I'm just wondering if anyone who had lost their PPS status lose their Amex PPS Club Credit Card as well?

I'm thinking of applying for the card but as I might not requal for next year's PPS status I would only be able to use the card for 2 years. Do they really check on your PPS status every other year?

I have no experience with the credit card withdrawal issue. But I will tell you my experiences:

1. First year is free but they insisted I should pay SGD 165 for the renewal and they claimed they made no exceptions at all. Someone told me that he was not charged for the renewal. Might be a mistake on Amex's system or they do make exceptions.

2. My understanding that the card is valid for two years and will not be canceled within that 2 years period even if PPS Membership lapse. Suggest you double check on this.

3. Attractiveness is that they give 1 mile for 50 cents spent SQ on air tickets. But this is negated by rise in number of miles required to book SQ F & J tickets on A380 or 77W.

4. However, note that it does not give double mileage on MI tickets. This is contrary to the Krisflyer Amex Gold Card.

5. The free 25,000 miles for upgrading is difficult to use. You should also note that there are many conditions attached to it. For e.g. if your redeeming requirement is 30,000 miles, you are entitled only to 15,000 miles (or something like that) off and not 25,000 miles off. There are also a time expiry and redemption saving is negated by the 15% discount given for online redemption booking for upgrades or full redemption tickets. I always throw mine away as it is not very useful for me as I usually used my miles to redeem long haul tickets.

The above is based on my memory and it isn't my best point...so double check.

Happy Spending!

Comment

Originally posted by LionCity View Post