SQTalk  

Go Back   SQTalk > Singapore Airlines > All About Singapore Airlines

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th February 2011, 02:03 AM   #1
crl
SQTalker
 
Join Date: 08-Jan-2011
Posts: 28
Default Too tight transit???

We are flying SYD-SIN-CPH-ARN.

I just realised that transit in SIN will be stressfull:

Arriving on SQ242 at 23.55 I think its Terminal 2 Can anyone confirm this?
Departing on SQ 352 at 01.10 Terminal 3

Can anyone confirm if we arrive at Terminal 2?

How fast can we get from Terminal 2 to 3?

This gets me worried, especially since we have kids.....

I could have chosen an earlier flight SIN-SYD, but would then have had 3 VERY tired kids that we would have to carry around for 3,5 hours in SIN.

Any advice is most welcome.
crl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 02:29 AM   #2
Pinkfloyd
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Pinkfloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-Jan-2009
Location: Back in SIN
Programs: Going, going..... Gone!
Posts: 1,283
Default

SQ242 can arrive in either T2 or T3, you won't know till a couple of hours before. Transferring between terminals is hassel-free and easy via a skytrain that links all terminals (except the Budget terminal). Trains leave fairly frequently (every 3 mins or so till 2.30am) and the ride takes a couple of minutes. You'll make it in time, no worries.
__________________
God must have been a ship owner, he placed the raw materials far from where they are needed and covered two-thirds of the earth with water...
Pinkfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 02:38 AM   #3
crl
SQTalker
 
Join Date: 08-Jan-2011
Posts: 28
Default

Thanks Pinkfloyd, now I feel less stressed about this.
crl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 02:45 AM   #4
Singapore Sling
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Singapore Sling's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-Apr-2010
Location: The World
Programs: Krisflyer PPS
Posts: 431
Default

Like Pinkfloyd said should not be a problem, but it is the the only airport I would do tight transits, their system just works so well, I have gone shopping with unless time than you have got. The only problem is if the SYD flight is late, which can happen.
Singapore Sling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 02:53 AM   #5
Pinkfloyd
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Pinkfloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-Jan-2009
Location: Back in SIN
Programs: Going, going..... Gone!
Posts: 1,283
Default

No worries. I am assuming the booking is done on a single PNR. IF your flight does get in late, SQ will put you guys up in a hotel anyway.

Out of curiosity, wouldn't it be easier to do SYD-BKK-ARN with TG? Of course, you do get TG's 744 on the BKK-ARN sector.
__________________
God must have been a ship owner, he placed the raw materials far from where they are needed and covered two-thirds of the earth with water...
Pinkfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 03:31 AM   #6
Singapore Sling
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Singapore Sling's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-Apr-2010
Location: The World
Programs: Krisflyer PPS
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkfloyd View Post
No worries. I am assuming the booking is done on a single PNR. IF your flight does get in late, SQ will put you guys up in a hotel anyway.
Now I have a question I know which hotels F and J get, but does Y class goto the same hotel as J class?

J and F get taxi and food cost paid for by SQ, would think it`s the same for Y, someone here will know.
Singapore Sling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 03:38 AM   #7
crl
SQTalker
 
Join Date: 08-Jan-2011
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkfloyd View Post
No worries. I am assuming the booking is done on a single PNR. IF your flight does get in late, SQ will put you guys up in a hotel anyway.

Out of curiosity, wouldn't it be easier to do SYD-BKK-ARN with TG? Of course, you do get TG's 744 on the BKK-ARN sector.

Yes, I agree TG ARN-BKK-SYD is tha quickest way, but:
You dont get to fly with SQ
You dont get a nice stopover in SIN on the way out.
TG ARN-BKK is an old 747, no PTV, can be a lot of noisy tourists etc
crl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 03:54 AM   #8
mr_botak
SQTalk PPS Club
 
mr_botak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-Mar-2008
Posts: 342
Default

Happened to friend - it was the Pan Pacific Marina Bay. During the LHR snow debacle, so may not have been entirely typical.
mr_botak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 04:53 AM   #9
Pinkfloyd
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Pinkfloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-Jan-2009
Location: Back in SIN
Programs: Going, going..... Gone!
Posts: 1,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Singapore Sling View Post
Now I have a question I know which hotels F and J get, but does Y class goto the same hotel as J class?

J and F get taxi and food cost paid for by SQ, would think it`s the same for Y, someone here will know.
I know that the airlines do pay for taxis and food (regardless of class of travel) but I guess the hotels might be different between F, J and Y.
__________________
God must have been a ship owner, he placed the raw materials far from where they are needed and covered two-thirds of the earth with water...
Pinkfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 10:29 AM   #10
SQflyergirl
SQTalk Founder
 
SQflyergirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31-Oct-2006
Location: Suburbia
Programs: Kali inilah!
Posts: 6,734
Default

That is a very legal connection and not particularly stressful at all. You'll make it with time to spare
SQflyergirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 02:51 PM   #11
feb01mel
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 01-Dec-2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: QPPS, Intercontinental IHG Platinum Ambassador
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via MSN to feb01mel
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQflyergirl View Post
That is a very legal connection and not particularly stressful at all. You'll make it with time to spare
Agreed, I, am as a Singaporean, am proud to declare Singapore Changi Airport as one of the most hassle free airports in the world when transiting here!
feb01mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 06:28 PM   #12
SQ228
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 16-Dec-2010
Location: Currently VIE, usually MEL
Programs: KF Pleb
Posts: 2,791
Default

Fairly unusual for a flight from Australia to land at T2, although it can occur. All my flights from MEL have always landed at T3 and frequently early. I wouldn't be even slightly worried. (Well until sitting at Sydney airport told your flight is delayed by 80 mins!)
SQ228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 06:32 PM   #13
feb01mel
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 01-Dec-2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: QPPS, Intercontinental IHG Platinum Ambassador
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via MSN to feb01mel
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQ228 View Post
Fairly unusual for a flight from Australia to land at T2, although it can occur. All my flights from MEL have always landed at T3 and frequently early. I wouldn't be even slightly worried. (Well until sitting at Sydney airport told your flight is delayed by 80 mins!)
Well, you are wrong. Today's SQ228 will be arriving at T2!

And it seems, SQ242 is using the 772ER, very likely it will land at T2, as per the past few days it landed at T2.
feb01mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 07:20 PM   #14
SQ228
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 16-Dec-2010
Location: Currently VIE, usually MEL
Programs: KF Pleb
Posts: 2,791
Default

There's nothing wrong with my statement. Most flights to and from Australia arrive and depart from T3, including all of the one's I've been on since T3 opened. If one particular flight is arriving at T2 in a consistent pattern then I'm interested to hear that, and thank you for the observation.
SQ228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2011, 07:46 PM   #15
kpc
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
Join Date: 08-Dec-2006
Location: Sydney
Programs: QF Plat (OWE), DJ Gold
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crl View Post

Any advice is most welcome.
About an hour befoir your arrival into Sin, you can check on your IFE system whether you will be landing in T2 or T3; it will also tell you which gate you will be departing from in T3. There is a map in the SilverKris magazine that gives you the layout of Changi and where to catch the train if you have to TF from T2 to T3.
kpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transit PVG wanderlust Airport Guides - Asia 8 30th May 2019 02:36 PM
Transit SIN - J to F JFKflyer Singapore & Changi Airport 7 3rd September 2012 02:43 PM
Transit in LAX from SQ 12 to AA viraj735 Airport Guides - USA/Canada and Latin America 3 19th April 2010 01:00 AM
Tight Transfer Timing at HKG sebastian_leng Other Airlines 5 3rd March 2009 04:22 PM
Relatively Tight Connection Backfired This Time Rejuvenated All About Singapore Airlines 13 7th January 2007 04:29 PM


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Techadmin: Luke | Hosting: www.lomag.net