SQTalk  

Go Back   SQTalk > General > Singapore & Changi Airport

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th January 2008, 03:42 PM   #1
kras
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
kras's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25-Aug-2007
Location: SYD <> HKG
Programs: SQ EG, CX MP, QF FF
Posts: 100
Default SIN T3: Terminal 3 user experiences

I thought I'd start a thread on how people are finding Singapore Changi's latest world-class terminal.

And, at the same time, I thought I'd share those experiences of my own.

Was in T3 after arriving on SQ220 on 12JAN (the first 9V-SKA flight after the wheel-in-the-grass incident), and did a short tour of the terminal after commercial operations began. Previously, I did the "open house" walk of the place a few weeks back, so I had a pretty good idea as to where things were

Anyway, there wasn't much happening around 2pm - the place was considered quiet when compared to the typical activity found over at T2. Granted that not all flights are operating out of T3 as yet, but it was still rather "lifeless".

Everything was still very new (obviously). So new, that even the aerobridge corridors weren't properly cleaned out (there was still traces of paintwork and dirt showing on some of the glass doors) - very poor considering that the terminal has been "opened" for quite some time already.

And getting back to "quiet", my friend and I eventually went down to immigration after having done our short tour of the terminal. On reaching downstairs, we realised that we were the only two passengers in the vicinity - and the ratio of officers attending to us was like 3-to-1

Finally, getting outside, I think there were far more people on the other side than inside!

All up, T3 is pretty under-capacity during the quieter times of the day!
kras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 04:13 PM   #2
kras
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
kras's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25-Aug-2007
Location: SYD <> HKG
Programs: SQ EG, CX MP, QF FF
Posts: 100
Default Boarding area checks - slow and inefficient

After staying overnight in SIN, my friend and I were off to SFO on SQ16. The flight was at 0915, so we had to get to the early somewhat early in the day.

Arrived into T3 at around 0745, and it was pretty busy - as there were quite a number of flights going out during the day. Anyway, after checking in, which took only around 5-10 mins at the J counters (row 5, I believe), we proceeded to immigration.

Upon getting out, we tried to locate the SKL, and realised that it was quite a walk to "area A". That was actually okay, compared to the following walk from the SKL to the B1-B4 boarding gates, which could be described as gruelling if you had to carry AND drag a bag at the same time!

Anyway, when we got to the boarding area where they did the X-ray checks of bags, I was shocked to find somewhat-long queues to get to the boarding gate. Even the "premium passengers" line was as long, and this was probably because no one could see the damn sign and that no one was really checking who was and who wasn't!

From memory, I believe there were 6 scanners and x-ray machines in the boarding area, shared amongst the four gates that it was serving. But only four of these were operational, with an x-ray and a scanner operator only on each set.

Now, over at T2, I remember that each boarding gate getting two sets of each - but more people working (there were at least two people checking those who "beeped" after the walk-thru). When you do the math, it figures as to why the pace of things weren't going as quickly...

And the fact that everyone walking through the scanning machine was checked, this made things even more frustrating for people waiting to get on their flight.

Bottom line is, they should have more people working these shared boarding areas - especially when a shared boarding area is used, servicing up to 3 active gates at a time.

T3 is a great, new terminal - but the logistics of it is questionable, to say the least. As for those service-based issues, I'm hopeful that these will be done away over time when they get a better feel of things...
kras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 11:29 PM   #3
9V-JKL
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS LPP2
 
9V-JKL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-Nov-2006
Posts: 4,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kras View Post
Anyway, when we got to the boarding area where they did the X-ray checks of bags, I was shocked to find somewhat-long queues to get to the boarding gate. Even the "premium passengers" line was as long, and this was probably because no one could see the damn sign and that no one was really checking who was and who wasn't!
I left from gate complex A15-A21?(the furthest west-end of T3)at 1am on 13/Jan and the same area had another flight to PEK. My experience was like that of yours. There were only 2 lines, premium and non-premium and like you I didn't even see the sign until I got to the front of the line
9V-JKL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 11:56 PM   #4
zxcvbn
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 08-Jan-2008
Programs: SQ CX
Posts: 251
Default

i hate the T1/2 designs when u queue forever for security, and then they take ** Bp away so u cant go anywhere.

i prefer split-level arrival/departures =0
zxcvbn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 10:24 AM   #5
kapitan
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
kapitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-Jan-2008
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ KF *S, TG ROP Plat
Posts: 1,598
Default

Will you folks walk straight to the head of the q for premium passengers at security?

I know during boarding I will do that....
kapitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 01:57 PM   #6
zxcvbn
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 08-Jan-2008
Programs: SQ CX
Posts: 251
Default immigration

quick question, say if im flying a T1 airline, maybe CX.
am i allowed to go to T1 check-in, then take skytrain to T3 landside, clear immigration, do bit of shopping and go back to T1 in the restricted zone?

thanks.
zxcvbn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 02:57 PM   #7
MAN Flyer
SQTalk Founder
 
Join Date: 31-Oct-2006
Location: All the wrong places...
Programs: SQ TPP, BA Gold, SPG Life Plat, Hyatt Dia, Hilton Dia
Posts: 6,476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zxcvbn View Post
quick question, say if im flying a T1 airline, maybe CX.
am i allowed to go to T1 check-in, then take skytrain to T3 landside, clear immigration, do bit of shopping and go back to T1 in the restricted zone?

thanks.
Why don't you just clear immigration at T1 then make your way to T3 ?.
MAN Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 06:32 PM   #8
slacker
SQTalk PPS Club
 
slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-Nov-2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: KrisFlyer, Miles & More, Enrich
Posts: 391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zxcvbn View Post
quick question, say if im flying a T1 airline, maybe CX.
am i allowed to go to T1 check-in, then take skytrain to T3 landside, clear immigration, do bit of shopping and go back to T1 in the restricted zone?

thanks.
I don't think there will be a problem with that. Flew on LX last Dec, and I entered the transit area and cleared immigration at T2 after visiting the T3 open house.

One thing though, the Airport police guarding the entry point to the immigration and transit area took to scrutinise your boarding pass, and she even remarked that the boarding pass looks so unfamiliar.

Does anyone knows y before using the Automated Clearance System, another immigration officer will check thru your boarding pass again? Any one else experienced before?
slacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 08:48 PM   #9
StarG
SQTalk Founder
 
StarG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31-Oct-2006
Programs: SQ TPP23, CX DM, DL P, GA CB, HGP D, HH D, SPG G, Hertz P
Posts: 3,027
Default

Got to visit the airside of T3 earlier today. IMHO it is an excellent, very user friendly terminal. Good selection of F&B outlets, nice sitting/lounging areas near the shops.
They have been playing Kevin Kern's The Winding Path album, of which "The Touch of Love" is my favorite CX boarding music!
StarG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2008, 10:52 AM   #10
SuperJonJon
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
SuperJonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-Mar-2007
Programs: SQ PPS
Posts: 1,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slacker View Post
Does anyone knows y before using the Automated Clearance System, another immigration officer will check thru your boarding pass again? Any one else experienced before?
That seems to be the standard practice which is why I seldom use the automated clearance system when departing from singapore.

I recall asking the officer before and it was due to the fact that the first officer checks the BP against your passport. Whereas the second officer checks the the access card against BP & passport ( This explaination was given when there were only access cards for the automated system).
SuperJonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2008, 10:48 AM   #11
flyguy
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 21-Dec-2006
Posts: 1,317
Default

with the introduction of dual terminal use by SQ - doesnt it seems that SQ operating out of T2 to its destinations are considered "poor cousins" or 2nd best to those cities that SQ departs from T3 - and also the SKL lounge and facilities at T2 are also now dated and less equipped as T3 for those who fly F or J.
flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2008, 01:37 PM   #12
nykelaz
SQTalk PPS Club
 
nykelaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-Jul-2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ, KE, NH, JL, RB, CX
Posts: 468
Send a message via Skype™ to nykelaz
Default

I think they should just remove SKL in T2 and convert it into a *A Lounge, then shift NH,TG,OZ to T2 from the overcrowded T1.
__________________
We put labels on people and fight wars over them. If we truly want harmony, we have to get past the labels.
nykelaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2008, 12:09 AM   #13
taipeiflyer
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 22-May-2007
Posts: 1,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyguy View Post
with the introduction of dual terminal use by SQ - doesnt it seems that SQ operating out of T2 to its destinations are considered "poor cousins" or 2nd best to those cities that SQ departs from T3 - and also the SKL lounge and facilities at T2 are also now dated and less equipped as T3 for those who fly F or J.
i wouldn't say this at all.
taipeiflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:03 AM   #14
SQ LPP
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS LPP2
 
Join Date: 31-Oct-2006
Posts: 3,412
Default Some Pictures of T3

Dear Moderator:
Since I am confused where to share these pictures appropriately, I should just post here first, and let you guys and gals decide where to move accordingly.
































SQ LPP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 02:06 AM   #15
jjpb3
SQTalk Founder
 
Join Date: 01-Nov-2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 4,455
Default

Your pictures are a good visual clue to the user experience, SQ LPP, so I've moved your post from the 'T3 Opening' thread to the one about 'T3 User Experiences'.


jjpb3
__________________
‘Lean into the sharp points’
jjpb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[BNE] The New Lounge - any experiences ? Centurionman SQ-Operated, Partner and Contract Lounges 15 19th August 2014 12:47 AM
Experiences with LX Y coffeeblack Star Alliance Partners 7 20th August 2010 03:44 PM
Using Passport Control/Checkin at Terminal Different from Actual Dep/Arr Terminal hybridace101 Singapore & Changi Airport 9 19th March 2010 03:20 PM
Sub-Par SQ Y Experiences... slickalick All About Singapore Airlines 15 8th February 2010 09:45 PM
My SQ Experiences rem777 All About Singapore Airlines 5 1st October 2009 04:30 PM


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Techadmin: Luke | Hosting: www.lomag.net