SQTalk  

Go Back   SQTalk > General > Singapore & Changi Airport

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th January 2011, 05:59 PM   #31
wktan81
SQTalk Elite Silver
 
Join Date: 04-Apr-2010
Location: SG
Programs: SQ KF, CX AM
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridace101 View Post
I was thinking why build a BT in the first place if LCCs are crowding T1 which somehow forces GA to go somewhere else? Only 5 LCCs are using the BT.
Because some LCC are thinking they are not "really" LCC because they can afford to provide more convenience to passengers such as aerobridge and using T1. So in the end it still up to the airlines whether they want to use main terminal and pay more or use BT which cost lower. I think there is no rule saying that LCC has to move to BT. Changi just try to provide all type of facilities for airlines, but at the end it is up to them to choose.
wktan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 06:11 PM   #32
ycp81
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
ycp81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-Apr-2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: Krisflyer, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Flying Blue, Enrich
Posts: 2,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridace101 View Post
Only 5 LCCs are using the BT.
Firefly and Berjaya are technically not LCCs but are "forced" to use BT due to their use of turboprops. Using BT will enable faster turnaround for them as there are no aerobridges at BT.
ycp81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 06:17 PM   #33
SilverChris
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 26-Mar-2010
Location: YVR/KUL
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridace101 View Post
I was thinking why build a BT in the first place if LCCs are crowding T1 which somehow forces GA to go somewhere else? Only 5 LCCs are using the BT.
If GA was forced out, they should be happy anyway. T3 is much classier.
SilverChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 08:07 PM   #34
hybridace101
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
Join Date: 10-Mar-2010
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wktan81 View Post
Because some LCC are thinking they are not "really" LCC because they can afford to provide more convenience to passengers such as aerobridge and using T1. So in the end it still up to the airlines whether they want to use main terminal and pay more or use BT which cost lower. I think there is no rule saying that LCC has to move to BT. Changi just try to provide all type of facilities for airlines, but at the end it is up to them to choose.
You have a point. At least SIN offers plenty options to its clientile to cater to their needs and more importantly, the costs they can afford. Though I would suggest they use a different name for the BT to avoid confusion.

I'm happy that GA gets to go to T3. It indeed complements its ever improving image.
hybridace101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 09:17 PM   #35
SilverChris
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 26-Mar-2010
Location: YVR/KUL
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridace101 View Post
Though I would suggest they use a different name for the BT to avoid confusion.
Isn't the name budget terminal straightforward enough?
SilverChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 09:45 PM   #36
hybridace101
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
Join Date: 10-Mar-2010
Posts: 242
Default

Hmmm... You've got me. I don't know what other name to call it since LCCs have an option of docking elsewhere. Though what I can think of is budget from the perspective of the carrier because the costs to them are low. I typically interpret the term LCC/BT/LCCT from the perspective of the carrier.
hybridace101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2011, 02:08 AM   #37
B727
SQTalk PPS Club
 
B727's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-Dec-2008
Programs: mohabbat aur zarurat
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sealalula View Post
Seem's like these few day's GA have been sending their 747 almost everyday
I remember in the 90s when GA 747s made regular stops in SIN on their way to/from Europe. Back then T1 was still a nice terminal, not so anymore these days as other posters have indicated on this thread.

This year has been the pits when arriving into T1. AK truly dominates the place with the high frequency of their fully-loaded (pax + baggage) flights. Two months ago, I had to scramble for a luggage cart and the taxi queue was the longest I'd ever seen with a 45-minute wait.

Last month, there were no luggage carts! We waited 10 minutes for security to open the glass doors for the cart trains to be rolled back in. And the taxi queue? We took one look and marched straight up to the second level where we walked to the far end, caught a skytrain to T2, walked out the elevator doors directly into the path of the exit for taxis and presto, no waiting line whatsoever. The taxi driver was shocked when we told of him of our ordeal; had he known, he would've queue'd up for fares at T1!

So, kudos to GA on the move to T3 and please take all or some of your SkyTeam brethren on your wings with you
__________________
Le jour de Saint Eugène, en traversant la Calle Mayor...
B727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2011, 02:26 AM   #38
UMD
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
UMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-Dec-2006
Location: SIN
Programs: SQ-TPP, GA-Plat
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridace101 View Post
I know what to say about this. But the irony is that *A which has a base in SIN is the least disciplined of the alliances as far as terminal assignments are concerned. OW and Sky have relatively stable terminal assignments being mostly in T1. *A carriers are all over the place. With GA moving into T3 and the SkyTeam, it may shackle that image of SkyTeam's stability in terminal assignments.
I am not sure SkyTeam is that much more disciplined than *A. KE is currently operating out of T2 and MU (which will also join SkyTeam) has already been operating out of T3 since the day T3 opens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridace101 View Post
I was thinking why build a BT in the first place if LCCs are crowding T1 which somehow forces GA to go somewhere else? Only 5 LCCs are using the BT.
I believe GA's move is more due to its rebranding strategy. Somehow, GA sees T3 as being more prestigious which can be a very important selling point back in Indonesia.
UMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2011, 06:45 AM   #39
coffeeblack
SQTalk PPS Club
 
coffeeblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-Jun-2009
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ, EK, SPG, A-Club
Posts: 365
Default

Just my 2 cents. It doesn't really matter which alliance you are with at SIN, purely because it's just so easy to transit amongst the different airlines, I mean truly so easy.
coffeeblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2011, 02:33 PM   #40
j.lin
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 28-May-2010
Posts: 490
Default

Are they going to use the SATS Premium Lounge @ T3? If yes, there goes my 'exclusive' privilege.
j.lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2011, 11:01 PM   #41
UMD
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
UMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-Dec-2006
Location: SIN
Programs: SQ-TPP, GA-Plat
Posts: 1,531
Default

The move is now effective Feb. 22, 2011. So, Garuda has moved it by about 20 days earlier. Also, Garuda will use the Row 1 Premium Check-In area.

UMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 02:52 PM   #42
sealalula
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 30-Dec-2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 444
Default

Garuda, What's the hurry ?
sealalula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 11:34 PM   #43
UMD
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
UMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-Dec-2006
Location: SIN
Programs: SQ-TPP, GA-Plat
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j.lin View Post
Are they going to use the SATS Premium Lounge @ T3? If yes, there goes my 'exclusive' privilege.
Got a reply from Garuda that they will indeed use the SATS Premium Lounge during the 1st 2 months and then move to the CIAS lounge once it is ready in April. So, it looks like CIAS is also building a lounge in T3. GA is the only airline in T3 handled by CIAS.

JetQuay service remains available for all the C class passengers.
UMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2011, 09:58 AM   #44
milehighj
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
milehighj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-Jan-2007
Programs: I/we live on many planes. But on the last flight that mattered, my seat number was 2A.
Posts: 2,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UMD View Post
JetQuay service remains available for all the C class passengers.
Does that include CGK-issued tickets?
milehighj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2011, 03:40 PM   #45
cscs1956
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 18-Jun-2007
Posts: 654
Default

My understanding is T1 and T3 is under 1 management vs T2.
I frequently find T2 operate more effeciently including waiting time at baggage claim and taxi stand.
cscs1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SIN-BCN-GRU Approved; First Flight March 2011 zvezda All About Singapore Airlines 188 18th February 2012 02:41 PM
Changi Airport Group results for the year ended 31 March 2011 flying.monkeyz Singapore & Changi Airport 0 1st September 2011 07:32 PM
Will MH move to T1? SilverChris Singapore & Changi Airport 3 21st June 2011 12:58 AM
Berjaya Air to move from Seletar to Changi's Budget Terminal MAN Flyer Singapore & Changi Airport 7 19th August 2010 04:23 AM
SQ62 to Houston and Moscow to move to T3 from 28 March MAN Flyer All About Singapore Airlines 9 9th February 2010 09:38 PM


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Techadmin: Luke | Hosting: www.lomag.net