Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• $216mn profit keeps record intact, sort of

post deleted
    Last edited by SQtraveller; 20 August 2017, 04:26 AM.

Is it me or am I the only one who seems to know that SQ actually made a loss on the last FY ?

http://www.singaporeair.com/saa/en_UK/docs/company_info/investor/financial/AnalystBriefingFY0910.pdf?http://www.singaporeair.com/saa/en_UK/docs/company_info/investor/financial/AnalystBriefingFY0910.pdf?

Going to slide 24 on the link above shows that for FY09/10, SQ as an airline actually made a loss of $38.6 mil, compared to MI which surprisingly raked in a profit of $49.2 mil.

The official statement that SQtraveller posted seems to mask these losses showing the SQ groups consolidated profit. I'm not good with these financial fineprints, so please do correct me if i'm wrong. But if I'm reading it correctly, then it seems to be a bloody good job by PR.

And just out of curiosity, SATS, the unit they sold off, made an operating profit of $184 mil, up 24% from last FY. Just reinforces my view that selling them off was a big mistake.

Comment

Originally posted by boing View Post
      Is it me or am I the only one who seems to know that SQ actually made a loss on the last FY ?

http://www.singaporeair.com/saa/en_UK/docs/company_info/investor/financial/AnalystBriefingFY0910.pdf?http://www.singaporeair.com/saa/en_UK/docs/company_info/investor/financial/AnalystBriefingFY0910.pdf?

Going to slide 24 on the link above shows that for FY09/10, SQ as an airline actually made a loss of $38.6 mil, compared to MI which surprisingly raked in a profit of $49.2 mil.

The official statement that SQtraveller posted seems to mask these losses showing the SQ groups consolidated profit. I'm not good with these financial fineprints, so please do correct me if i'm wrong. But if I'm reading it correctly, then it seems to be a bloody good job by PR.