Will SQ Cargo order the A350F?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will SQ Cargo order the A350F?

Airbus have approved the development of the A350 Freighter. Do you think the they will order this to replace the 747-400F? The oldest 747's will be reaching 25 years old when the A350F is ready for delivery. Considering that they will need a replacement for the 747 and the airlines considerable investment into the A350 already it seems like a good fit to me, albeit I am not an expert!

I'm not so sure....

The A350F will "only" have a 90T payload compared to 102T (77F) & 134T (748F).
    Perhaps the front opening of the 747 freighters are desirable to SQ.

I think SQ will need to decide if they even want dedicated freighters or just rely on belly freight business

Comment

Do think that SQ should order a few say 5 new 748s if they are still available for orders and which are fairly efficient for large and heavy cargo plus its advantage of front loading from the nose which enables it to carry large and off size cargo. And to order a few 77F too for somewhat smaller cargo load with twin engine efficiency. From this current covid pandemic, SQ would have learnt the importance of full freighter air cargo and also its importance for importing fast needed food for the country. SQ now have only 7 744 freighters which are getting in age and some years back SQ actually have more than 10 freighters.

Comment

The equipment/tools to build new 748 have been sold by the vendors, therefore it is impossible to buy new B748F anymore. The company have made last few barrels before they closed down for good and will deliver to Boeing in next few months, ending the Queen of the Skies for good. Moving forward, twin engines freighter will take over the skies, factory built and conversion. There are few companies buying up all those used 767, 777 and A321 for conversion.