SQTalk  

Go Back   SQTalk > Singapore Airlines > All About Singapore Airlines

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st April 2019, 04:50 AM   #1
MAN Flyer
SQTalk Founder
 
Join Date: 31-Oct-2006
Location: All the wrong places...
Programs: SQ TPP, BA Gold, SPG Life Plat, Hyatt Dia, Hilton Dia
Posts: 6,539
Default SQ short of space in T3 at peak periods?

That was the reason given for our SQ52 to MAN departing from gate C20 yesterday. I am familiar with the use of Flexi Gates at the T3/T1 and T2/T1 'border', but I have never been given a proper T1 gate for a T3 departure. SQ52 doesn't leave until after 2am either so they must be struggling. I noticed the BNE fight went from a T1 gate as well.
__________________
Incheon : Connected to the world, cut-off from Korea
MAN Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2019, 06:00 AM   #2
SQ228
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 16-Dec-2010
Location: Currently MEL, often DUS
Programs: KF Pleb
Posts: 2,651
Default

The last two transfers I made at Changi I noticed C1 being used by an SQ flight, including arriving into it myself from DUS. As we pulled in, C20 also had an SQ plane in it. I get the impression C1 is almost considered to be part of T3 now.
SQ228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2019, 09:39 AM   #3
9V-SPL
SQTalk PPS Club
 
9V-SPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-Dec-2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 840
Default

It’s pretty much a daily occurrence. Quite common for them to occupy gates C1, C20 and C22. On rare occasions, even C23 for the T3/T1 side.

For T2/T1 side, they use D40, D41 and even up to D42 (mainly MI).

It also depends on the corresponding arrival flight, it may have arrived at a time when other gates are occupied hence they use these “flexi gates”, instead of having to tow the aircraft over again to the other gates as they gradually become available.
__________________
Singapore Airlines - A great way to fly...
9V-SPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2019, 10:18 AM   #4
SQfanatic
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 05-Nov-2008
Location: SFO
Programs: KrisFlyer
Posts: 1,940
Default

I heard this also happens during the morning hours. For example, SQ12 and maybe a few other flights like SQ828, SQ288, SQ211 or at least any flight departing from 7AM to 11AM will use those gates. Evening flights, not so much the case.
SQfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2019, 02:56 PM   #5
boing
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 27-Oct-2008
Posts: 627
Default

It happens to the late evening flights as well. Flexi gates are still not as bad as remote bay departures, which also gets assigned occasionally.
boing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2019, 04:55 PM   #6
SQ228
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 16-Dec-2010
Location: Currently MEL, often DUS
Programs: KF Pleb
Posts: 2,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boing View Post
It happens to the late evening flights as well. Flexi gates are still not as bad as remote bay departures, which also gets assigned occasionally.
Yes, remote bay assignment to a wide-body is just hell, although QR seemed to be famous for it at one stage before DOH was appropriately upgraded. FRA is pretty notorious for it if you fly on a single-aisle.
SQ228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2019, 12:52 PM   #7
Jumbojet Lover
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Jumbojet Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-Dec-2009
Programs: Krisflyer, TrueBlue, Flying Blue, AAdvantage
Posts: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQ228 View Post
FRA is pretty notorious for it if you fly on a single-aisle.
Recently boarded a twin-aisle 787-10 from a remote stand in FRA. That airport needs more gates too, although from an enthusiast's point of view, I don't mind a "bus tour" passing various aircraft types on the way to/from the aircraft!
Jumbojet Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2019, 05:18 PM   #8
MAN Flyer
SQTalk Founder
 
Join Date: 31-Oct-2006
Location: All the wrong places...
Programs: SQ TPP, BA Gold, SPG Life Plat, Hyatt Dia, Hilton Dia
Posts: 6,539
Default

I am on SQ52 again tonight (well, 02:25...) so will be interesting to see where we go from this time. Up until our C20 a few weeks ago SQ52 tended to be quite close in as it departs after the heavy evening bank. In fact I am regularly the only one in the FCL lounge when I leave to board.

When it was SQ328 via MUC it was nearly always B8, 9 or 10, which is almost T1 anyway

Quote:
Originally Posted by boing View Post
It happens to the late evening flights as well. Flexi gates are still not as bad as remote bay departures, which also gets assigned occasionally.
I have never had a remote bay arrival or departure at Changi, thankfully. What gates are used for those then ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQ228 View Post
Yes, remote bay assignment to a wide-body is just hell, although QR seemed to be famous for it at one stage before DOH was appropriately upgraded. FRA is pretty notorious for it if you fly on a single-aisle.
I am afraid DOH is still bad for remote gates. I would estimate 50% of my inbound flights from MAN are remote gates, certainly the two in the last couple of months have been. LH flight to MAN from FRA suffer from this as well.
__________________
Incheon : Connected to the world, cut-off from Korea
MAN Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2019, 05:49 PM   #9
Unionruler
SQTalk Elite Silver
 
Join Date: 11-Apr-2014
Location: Singapore
Programs: KFEG, AA Platinum
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQ228 View Post
Yes, remote bay assignment to a wide-body is just hell, although QR seemed to be famous for it at one stage before DOH was appropriately upgraded. FRA is pretty notorious for it if you fly on a single-aisle.
DOH definitely has not been sufficiently upgraded. Have had Asia, Africa and even GRU flights out of remote gates. But I like the consistent application of the Business Class bus.
Unionruler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2019, 07:59 PM   #10
alian
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 29-Feb-2016
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ PPS
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQ228 View Post
Yes, remote bay assignment to a wide-body is just hell, although QR seemed to be famous for it at one stage before DOH was appropriately upgraded. FRA is pretty notorious for it if you fly on a single-aisle.
Well noted on QR in DOH I was recently on QR from SIN to MCT and all my flights out of DOH were on remote bays 2 A350-1000 and 1 A320. They have so many aero bridges but still keep getting remote bays on both arrival and departures
alian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2019, 08:35 PM   #11
9V-SML
SQTalker
 
Join Date: 14-Aug-2017
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ *G, BA Silver
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alian View Post
Well noted on QR in DOH I was recently on QR from SIN to MCT and all my flights out of DOH were on remote bays 2 A350-1000 and 1 A320. They have so many aero bridges but still keep getting remote bays on both arrival and departures
Gosh, Iím heading to JFK via DOH from SIN this coming week. Fingers crossed on the aerobridge in DOH. Bussing to and from the aircraft is just a terrible waste of time and energy from pax perspective.
9V-SML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2019, 12:15 PM   #12
SQ025
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
SQ025's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-Aug-2012
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boing View Post
It happens to the late evening flights as well. Flexi gates are still not as bad as remote bay departures, which also gets assigned occasionally.
In 25 years I had once a departure off a remote bay in SIN, it was on a turboprop flight with Bangkok Airways in the early 2000 to USM.
And the first time I arrived on SQ25 it was parked on a remote bay as well, but that was back in 94.
SQ025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2019, 07:11 PM   #13
flyguy
SQTalk Solitaire PPS
 
Join Date: 21-Dec-2006
Posts: 1,469
Default

Interestingly for the past few months, a few number of flights by Silkair have their pax bussed from T2 to T4 where their planes are parked. Every night quite a number of Silkair and a few Scoot planes are parked at T4.
flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2019, 01:55 PM   #14
yuuka_miya
SQTalker
 
Join Date: 22-Nov-2018
Posts: 24
Default

Might be something to do with keeping the widebody stands at T2 open.

How many MARS stands are there at T2, anyway?
yuuka_miya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2019, 07:30 PM   #15
davidfusq
SQTalk Elite Gold
 
Join Date: 03-Jun-2017
Location: SIN
Programs: SQKF
Posts: 152
Default

Through my years of travelling through Changi, I encountered several times we were bussed to or from the remote stands:
1. On Firefly turboprop flights to Subang. Gates assigned are usually those along the long sides of T2.
2. On an Oman Air early morning flight to Kuala Lumpur. Gate assigned was one of the common gates A1-8 at T3. A6-A8 being the remote gates which you need to descend to after security screening. The aircraft was parked at the sides of T1.
3. On a Malindo Air evening flight from KL. The aircraft was parked at the aprons of T2 near the Jetquay terminal. We were bussed to T3 across the southern taxiway.
4. On an Air China morning flight to Beijing. A short ride to the remote stands between T1 and the cargo terminal.
davidfusq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Techadmin: Luke | Hosting: www.lomag.net