Default UA, US introduce checked baggage fee

.. in joining AA to raise more revenue amid surging oil costs

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/TRAVEL/0...ags/index.html
EWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008, 06:04 PM   #2
zxcvbn
SQTalk PPS Club

Programs: SQ CX

Sorry, I'm new to the whole 'pay for checked baggage' idea.
From reading the article, the charge only applies for passengers whos ticket is issued after today?

Would someone clarify please? Thank you
Old 13th June 2008, 06:19 PM   #3
StarG
SQTalk Founder

Programs: SQ TPP24, CX DM, DL P, GA CB, WOH LGLOB, HH D, MB G, Hertz P

Sad news. But I guess with the oil price what they are today, they have to start exploring unconventional solutions.
Hope I won't hear the same news coming form CX/SQ.
StarG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008, 07:35 PM   #4
MegatopLover
SQTalk PPS Club

Yes, the fee applies on a going-forward basis only to tickets issued after the new fee was announced. Baggage charges form part of the contract between pax and airline, and the airline cannot unilaterally change the contract. All it can do it set new terms for future contracts.
MegatopLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008, 10:57 PM   #5
milehighj
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS

Programs: I/we live on many planes. But on the last flight that mattered, my seat number was 2A.

Ok I'm behind the curve here.

So to clarify what's stated in the article, this new model does not involve F & J pax and those with status on the carrier or their alliance?
milehighj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 01:46 AM   #6
cawhite
SQTalk Founder

UA checked bag policy for "United EconomyŽ travel within the 50 United States, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Canada"
http://www.united.com/page/article/0,6722,52481,00.html

US checked bag policy
http://www.usairways.com/awa/content...epolicies.aspx
cawhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 04:24 AM   #7
HUGE AL