SQTalk  

Go Back   SQTalk > General > Small Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th August 2007, 03:18 PM   #1
Dynasty
SQTalk Elite Silver
 
Dynasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-Aug-2007
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: China airlines-Dynasty Flyer, Eva Air-Evergreen Club, Singapore Airlines- KrisFlyer
Posts: 90
Default Airbus A300's production line is being off

I've received the latest news from an aviation magazine, and would like to report it to all the SQTalk members.

Is that the French manufacturer Airbus Industrie has announced after the production of so many A300s from the 1970's, the model will eventually go into history. The last production will be delivered to Federal Express, and is the type of an A300-F4-605. The machine is being tested in Toulouse on 11-7-2007.

The CEO of Federal Express was interviewed and he praised Airbus' great contribution for Federal Express and the great reputation and prestige in aviation industry.


For me, I've tried the A300 for 1 time in Korea by Korean Air, it's a domestic flight. Very nice experience, very spacious cabin if you think of the size of the aircraft.

Have you tried it before?? What about your experience then???Share it with us! OK!!
Dynasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2007, 07:51 PM   #2
nykelaz
SQTalk PPS Club
 
nykelaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-Jul-2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ, KE, NH, JL, RB, CX
Posts: 468
Send a message via Skype™ to nykelaz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynasty View Post
I've received the latest news from an aviation magazine, and would like to report it to all the SQTalk members.

Is that the French manufacturer Airbus Industrie has announced after the production of so many A300s from the 1970's, the model will eventually go into history. The last production will be delivered to Federal Express, and is the type of an A300-F4-605. The machine is being tested in Toulouse on 11-7-2007.

The CEO of Federal Express was interviewed and he praised Airbus' great contribution for Federal Express and the great reputation and prestige in aviation industry.


For me, I've tried the A300 for 1 time in Korea by Korean Air, it's a domestic flight. Very nice experience, very spacious cabin if you think of the size of the aircraft.

Have you tried it before?? What about your experience then???Share it with us! OK!!
Yeah, I kind of enjoyed my domestic flight on the A300 with Korean Air too. The cabin was spacious but the seats looked very dated. However, that was like maybe four years ago? Not sure whether they have updated their cabin since then. Heard KE has plans to retire its fleet of A300 soon.
nykelaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2007, 08:45 PM   #3
up and away
SQTalk PPS Club
 
up and away's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-Jun-2007
Location: Racoon City ;)
Posts: 697
Default

I flew an A300 on a LH domestic flight. This was after a catastrophic weekend-trip to London during which no flight or flight-connection fitted as it should have. The only plane that was on time and not broken down was this A300. Very spacious seats&interior, and it truly was a "whispering giant"
__________________
Capslock is cruise control for cool... not!

See you at W:O:A 2010- rain or shine!
up and away is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2007, 09:22 AM   #4
9V-JKL
SQTalk Life Solitaire PPS LPP2
 
9V-JKL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-Nov-2006
Posts: 4,479
Default

My A300 experiences were all on TG. And as some would agree, its not very nice, feels quite dated.

But then, its the A300 that set Airbus on its way, so I guess she'll always be remembered
9V-JKL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2007, 07:40 PM   #5
Greatfox
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Greatfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-Mar-2007
Location: Melbourne/Singapore
Programs: Cattle Club, Krisflyer Elite Silver
Posts: 399
Default

I can't believe they're still producing it now, thought it was long gone with the introduction of the A310
Greatfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2007, 04:53 PM   #6
DeltaFlyingProf
SQTalk PPS Club
 
DeltaFlyingProf's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27-Nov-2006
Programs: AA EXP; BA Gold; SQ PPS; LH SEN; BD Gold; DL Silver Dust
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greatfox View Post
I can't believe they're still producing it now, thought it was long gone with the introduction of the A310
I also had thought production had ended a long time ago.

I did get to fly in the second A300 prototype that was sold to the Belgian charter airline TEA (RIP). Then on TG and the TG ones have indeed dated interiors.
DeltaFlyingProf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2007, 07:51 PM   #7
up and away
SQTalk PPS Club
 
up and away's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-Jun-2007
Location: Racoon City ;)
Posts: 697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greatfox View Post
I can't believe they're still producing it now, thought it was long gone with the introduction of the A310
Trying to replace an A300 with an A310 would be like trying to replace the 767 with the T7.
__________________
Capslock is cruise control for cool... not!

See you at W:O:A 2010- rain or shine!
up and away is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2007, 09:48 PM   #8
Greatfox
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Greatfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-Mar-2007
Location: Melbourne/Singapore
Programs: Cattle Club, Krisflyer Elite Silver
Posts: 399
Default

whoops, forgive my massive faux pas, I didn't read the wikipedia article too closely
Greatfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2007, 11:06 PM   #9
Dynasty
SQTalk Elite Silver
 
Dynasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-Aug-2007
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: China airlines-Dynasty Flyer, Eva Air-Evergreen Club, Singapore Airlines- KrisFlyer
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaFlyingProf View Post
I also had thought production had ended a long time ago.

I did get to fly in the second A300 prototype that was sold to the Belgian charter airline TEA (RIP). Then on TG and the TG ones have indeed dated interiors.
I think you must be not so familiar with Airbus' production.But never mind,I may tell you some details.

Actually, A300, that particular model has been produced for about 30 yrs, but of different variants. A300B, A300-B2,A300-B4 & A300-B4-600R, the oldest one is A300B, and the newest one is A300-B4-600R, that's the only A300 with winglet.
The A300B, A300-B2 & A300-B4 use traditional analogue flight display and use less computer automation,no FADEC,ECU etc...,where the 600Rs use CRT display and more computerized, but not fly-by-wire(invented at the time of A320). Also,600R has added the winglet which gives a better aerodynamic structure in order to save more fuel and fly faster.
Airbus has still delivered 6 A300s during 2007, but after that last 6, the line will completely off,as many would tends to buy the more advanced A330,it is also the model to replace the A300.
So, A300 will surely become you and my collective memory!!
Dynasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2007, 11:38 PM   #10
sqforever
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Join Date: 14-May-2007
Location: Singapore, Cleveland
Programs: UA Mileage Plus Premier, DL Skymiles Silver
Posts: 321
Default

My only A300 experience was a short jaunt round trip on TG from Singapore-Phuket in 2004. It was pretty old and dated, and I was a bit freaked from the constant smell of fuel and the flickering overhead light above my seat. The seats were also in the tooth and the o utside of the plane was a bit dirty. The only redeeming factors were the meal which had the best pasta I've had on a plane, the taro coconut cake dessert, and the very accomodating FAs!
__________________
Such a way about you, My Singapore Girl. Wouldn't go away without you, My Singapore Girl.

Last edited by sqforever; 1st September 2007 at 11:42 PM..
sqforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2007, 06:59 PM   #11
Greatfox
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Greatfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-Mar-2007
Location: Melbourne/Singapore
Programs: Cattle Club, Krisflyer Elite Silver
Posts: 399
Default

did SQ run these to Guangzhou? because I may have flown on one, or an A310, I can't remember well
Greatfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2007, 12:59 AM   #12
nykelaz
SQTalk PPS Club
 
nykelaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-Jul-2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ, KE, NH, JL, RB, CX
Posts: 468
Send a message via Skype™ to nykelaz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greatfox View Post
did SQ run these to Guangzhou? because I may have flown on one, or an A310, I can't remember well
When was your Guangzhou flight? Cause the A300s were phased out quite sometime back. Whereas the A310s continue to serve SQ till recently years.
nykelaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2007, 09:38 PM   #13
Greatfox
SQTalk PPS Club
 
Greatfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-Mar-2007
Location: Melbourne/Singapore
Programs: Cattle Club, Krisflyer Elite Silver
Posts: 399
Default

2001(I only remember because I can still remember the film they were showing on the projectors!!), so it must have been an A310
Greatfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superb Video Production (With Cameo from SQ) LateBloomer All About Singapore Airlines 2 4th April 2012 03:17 PM
Thai Airways BKK-HKT-BKK on the A300-600 in Y sqdazz Trip Reports 22 4th August 2010 03:29 PM
Very interesting Video about A380 Production Problem and SQ A380. tokyonite All About Singapore Airlines 1 9th November 2007 06:14 PM


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Techadmin: Luke | Hosting: www.lomag.net