Requal loophole closed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Requal loophole closed?

As some of you might recall, my flying pattern changed somewhat last year and I wasn't going to clock 70 sectors like I did the previous year. I was expecting to get only about 15, but as of Dec ended up getting 22.5. Being QPP6, having 70 sectors the year before, and 192.5 in total - I figure I was good to go for QPP7.

Alas not. I've been unceremoniously dumped to Silver as of today.

I wrote to the PPS coordinator, asking for a courtesy extension seeing how I have a J flight booked (and waitlisted!!) in mid-Feb. And I need status to clear the waitlist!

gah. Maybe my math is faulty, but I coulda sworn I was a shoo-in for requalification.

Firstly welcome to SQTalk fimo! -

I've always thought that the averaging rule was not an automated process - and that you had to ask for it. I'm not sure, as i've never used it before though.

Comment

Thanks SQFlyergirl! Didn't realise I hadn't registered here until I tried to post today!

I've requalified through the loophole a couple of times, never had to ask for it, and mind you I was requalifying early in the past even. Thankfully I have LH Sen to tide me over, but it's just annoying in light of all the other cut backs people have been reporting.

Comment

Welcome fimo.
        I have never requalified with the 'loophole' so can't share my experience.
        I thought it would have been automatic too.

Comment

I am a relatively new PPS and have been reading about requal and the averaging 'loophole' on here, but I'm still a bit confused about how this all works.

I'm QPP1 thru Dec/07. If I earn 25 sectors by Jul/07, at that point, does my:
          1. PPS sector count reset to 0?
          2. QPP1 turns into QPP2?
          3. qualification date gets extended another year to Dec/08?